Speaker Series

Time for Choosing Speaker Series

The Time for Choosing Speaker Series is a new forum from the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation & Institute for leading voices in the conservative movement to address critical questions facing the future of the Republican Party.  Through formal speeches delivered at the Reagan Library in Simi Valley, California, speakers will be invited to specifically address fundamental questions, such as “Why are you a Republican?,” “What should the Republican Party stand for?,” and “What are the Republican philosophies we can all agree on?”

The series derives its name from the iconic 1964 address Ronald Reagan delivered to support Senator Barry Goldwater’s presidential campaign. A political newcomer at the time, Ronald Reagan presented the country with a choice between "man's old-aged dream, the ultimate in individual freedom consistent with law and order" and "the ant heap of totalitarianism."

The question is no longer “What would Ronald Reagan do?”
The question is now “What would Ronald Reagan expect of us?”

Speakers will include leading intellectuals, U.S. representatives, U.S. senators, governors and emerging 2024 presidential candidates. They will embody a range of viewpoints: As then-Governor Reagan said in 1967, "There is room in our tent for many views; indeed, the divergence of views is one of our strengths."

"It is a great honor to kick off the Time for Choosing series,” said former Speaker Paul Ryan. “I look forward to addressing these fundamental and timely questions, but more importantly I am eager to hear how other Republican and conservative leaders, each with their own convictions and priorities, address the same questions. I am confident that our substantive, reasoned dialogue will do a service to the legacy of President Reagan and the party he once led."

Speeches will be broadcast online through the Reagan Foundation & Institute's website and social media channels.

Press Release:

April 30, 2021


Ambassador & Mrs. Howard H. Leach
Larry R. Polhill

Dr. Scholl Foundation