Shopping Cart

Your Shopping Cart is empty

Visit Store
Change Font Size
Change Font Size

Shopping Cart

Your Shopping Cart is empty

Visit Store


Modernizing the Toolkit for Advancing Freedom and Promoting Democracy in the 21st Century


As freedom and democracy face challenges around the world, the cause of renewing our commitment to President Reagan’s ideals has never been more urgent. The Westminster 2.0 Working Group will take on the question of how to modernize efforts to promote freedom in the context of 21st-century challenges and opportunities, from rising authoritarianism to emerging technologies.

By convening public officials, technology experts, freedom and democracy advocates, and business leaders, the Working Group will produce a report evaluating past efforts and programs and outlining the strategy and tools necessary to advance freedom in today’s world. The central question will be how to organize our government to best develop and utilize that toolkit, including what new legislation, structures, and resources are required to do so.


Evaluating Current Efforts to Advance Freedom
Understanding New Authoritarian Challenges
Contextualizing Emerging Technologies
Building a Robust Notion of Freedom
Modernizing the Toolkit
Aligning Resources and Structures
Working with Allies and Partners

The Working Group is named in honor of President Reagan’s 1982 speech before the British Parliament at Westminster, which created the democracy promotion architecture that America has relied on for nearly four decades. As President Reagan proclaimed in that address, “We must be staunch in our conviction that freedom is not the sole prerogative of a lucky few, but the inalienable and universal right of all human beings.”

Working Group Members

Ambassador Mark Green

President, Director, and CEO, The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and Former Administrator, U.S. Agency for International Development

Mr. Kenneth Wollack

Chairman, National Endowment for Democracy and Former President, National Democratic Institute

The Honorable Howard Berman 

Board Member, National Democratic Institute and Former Chairman, House Foreign Affairs Committee (D-CA)

Ms. Nicole Bibbins Sedaca

Executive Vice President, Freedom House and Former Senior Director, Bureau of Democracy and Human Rights and Labor, U.S. State Department

Mr. Jonathan Burks

Vice President of Global Public Policy, Walmart and Former Chief of Staff, Speaker of the House Paul D. Ryan

Mr. Scott Carpenter 

Managing Director, Jigsaw at Google and Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of Near East Affairs

Congresswoman Liz Cheney (R-WY) 

U.S. Representative, Wyoming and Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State and Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for the Middle East

Ambassador Eric Edelman 

Counselor, Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments and Former U.S. Ambassador to Turkey and Finland

Dr. Evelyn Farkas 

President, Farkas Global Strategies and Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Russia, Ukraine, and Eurasia

Mr. Jamie Fly

President and CEO, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty and Former Senior Fellow and Senior Advisor to the President, German Marshall Fund

Mr. Richard Fontaine

CEO, Center for a New American Security and Former Foreign Policy Advisor, Senator John McCain

Mr. Jeff Gedmin 

CEO and Editor-in-Chief, American Purpose and Former President, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty

Mr. Kent Lucken 

Managing Director, Citigroup and International Council Member, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs

Congresswoman Elaine Luria (D-VA)

U.S. Representative, Virginia's 2nd Congressional District and Commander (Ret.), U.S. Navy

Ambassador Michael McFaul

Director and Senior Fellow, the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford University and Former U.S. Ambassador to Russia

Ambassador Derek Mitchell 

President, National Democratic Institute and Former U.S. Ambassador to Myanmar (Burma)

Ms. Kate O'Sullivan

General Manager, Digital Diplomacy at Microsoft      

The Honorable Jim Talent

Commissioner, U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission and Former U.S. Senator (R-MO)

Ambassador Robert Tuttle 

Trustee, Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Institute and Former U.S. Ambassador to the Court of St. James's

Dr. Daniel Twining

President, International Republican Institute and Former Member, State Department Policy Planning Staff

Working Group Staff


Project Director || Policy Director, Ronald Reagan Institute


Senior Advisor || Distinguished Scholar, Strauss Center for International Security and Law, University of Texas and Former China Program Manager, U.S. State Department Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor

Mr. Thomas Kenna

Policy Assistant, Ronald Reagan Institute


Research Assistant